13 Colonies Resources

Thirteen Colonies

The American colonial period began in 1607 with the arrival of settlers in Jamestown, Virginia, and ended in 1775 when the Revolutionary War began. Although the English were not the first Europeans to arrive in the New World, they eventually outnumbered other Europeans. And by 1733 they formed thirteen English colonies that later became thirteen American states. They were, in order of settlement: Virginia, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Connecticut, Maryland, Rhode Island, Delaware, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, New Jersey, South Carolina, and Georgia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *